Tuesday, May 23, 2023

Malacañang Recognizes 12 Exceptional Organizations at the 2022 Philippine Quality Awards Conferment Ceremony

2022 Philippine Quality Awards Conferment Ceremony

MANILA – The Office of the President led the recognition of 12 exceptional organizations at the 2022 Philippine Quality Awards Conferment Ceremony held in the stunning Bonifacio Hall of Malacañang Palace on 17 May 2023, showcasing the Department of Trade and Industry's (DTI) stalwart leadership in championing world-class quality and excellence.

The DTI’s prestigious event bestowed recognition on 12 organizations that epitomize excellent organizational performance, with the University of Mindanao making history as the first academic institution to achieve the most-coveted PQA for Performance Excellence (Level 4).

Representing President Ferdinand R. Marcos, Jr., Executive Secretary Lucas P. Bersamin led the ceremony and echoed the importance of quality as a fundamental pillar in realizing the economic priorities of the current administration.

“The PQA serves as a vital tool in supporting the objectives of the Philippine Development Plan 2023-2028, fostering transparency and efficiency in governance, and ensuring the overall growth and progress of the Philippines. Through continuous improvement and innovation, our recipients contribute to the creation of a future-ready Filipino workforce and a more inclusive and prosperous society for all,” stated Executive Secretary Bersamin.

“This Conferment Ceremony is a reminder that every Filipino’s responsibility is to ensure that our nation fosters a culture of excellence. The pursuit of quality is the foundation of a robust economy, and it is through your continued dedication that we can build a nation that can stand alongside the best in the world,” the former Chief Justice added.

Bersamin further commended the DTI for the successful conduct of the 25th PQA Assessment Cycle which served as a resounding testament of the Department’s unyielding commitment to upholding and promoting quality and excellence across all sectors, inspiring more Filipinos to strive for continuous improvement and innovation.

Meanwhile, on behalf of DTI Secretary Fred Pascual, Undersecretary Rafaelita Aldaba expressed her deepest gratitude to the PQA Administrators, Judges, Assessors, and the entire PQA Team for their dedication to upholding the integrity and prestige of the PQA Program, ensuring its continued success and impact in recognizing excellence in organizations.

Joining University of Mindanao (Level 4 awardee) are the following distinguished organizations and their respective PQA Levels: 

Recognition for Mastery in Quality Management (Level 3)

Amherst Laboratories, Inc.

Bulacan State University

Recognition for Proficiency in Quality Management (Level 2)

Bukidnon State University

Caraga State University

Department of Science and Technology - Philippine Council for Industry, Energy and Emerging Technology Research and Development (DOST-PCIEERD)

Isabela State University – Ilagan Campus

Isabela State University – Cabagan Campus

University of Southern Mindanao

Recognition for Commitment to Quality Management (Level 1)

Bataan Peninsula State University 

Department of Education – Schools Division Office of Bataan

Department of Education – Schools Division Office of Rizal

Patterned after the US Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, PQA Program is a national award program that recognizes the achievements of public and private sector organizations in their journey towards performance excellence. Since 1997, it has recognized more than 100 exemplary organizations in the Philippines, with United Laboratories, Inc. (UNILAB) and Toyota Motor Philippines Corp. (TMP) being the first and second recipients of PQA Level 4, respectively. 

No comments:

Post a Comment